History of Wagner's Cottages
Wagner's Cottage in 1975
In 1854 four families arrived in Hobart on the Williamsburg from Wirtemburg, Germany.
The Dilgers, the Haas, the Rapps and the Wagners all purchased 10-acre plots in Swansea and set up subsistence farming on the land that is today Wagners Cottages.
Wagners Cottages was established by local farmers Dianne & Malcolm Sinclair who purchased and restored the 3-acre Wagner estate for tourist accommodation in 1975.
Over the next 20 years the Sinclair’s designed and built three additional cottages – Hollyhock, Primrose and the Studio – in the style of the original Wagner’s cottage.
Today Wagners Cottages comprises four fully self-contained, one and two bedroom cottages, each with its own secluded private garden.
The rich history of the family, who occupied the original cottages in the 1850s, provides the basis for the rustic, old world experience offered by Wagner’s Cottages today.
Acknowledgement: Glamorgan Spring Bay Historical Society.